Guidance about compliance: summary of regulations, outcomes and judgement framework

Care Quality Commission
Publication year:
Place of publication:

This guide is a summary of the guidance that we have produced to help providers of health and adult social care to comply with the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2009 and the Care Quality Commission (Registration) Regulations 2009, which came into force on 1 April 2010. The guidance has been split into two sections. Part 1 deals with the regulations and the expected level of service provided if the regulations are adhered to, whereas part 2 summarises the stages and steps in the CQC’s judgment framework, which will be used to judge compliance with the regulations. There are 28 outcomes contained in the guidance and these are grouped into the following six key areas: involvement and information; personalised care, treatment and support; safeguarding and safety; suitability of staffing; quality and management; suitability of management. The CQC will use information from patients, public representative groups, safety regulators and the National Patient Safety Agency to ensure that providers are meeting essential standards of quality and safety.

Subject terms:
quality assurance, social care provision, standards, adult social care, adults, health care, good practice;
Content type:
practice guidance
Register/Log in to view this resource

Key to icons

  • Free resource Free resource
  • Journal article Journal article
  • Book Book
  • Digital media Digital media
  • Journal Journal

Give us your feedback

Social Care Online continues to be developed in response to user feedback.

Contact us with your comments and for any problems using the website.

Sign up/login for more

Register/login to access resource links, advanced search and email alerts